Private: News
My Favorites :: :: Print :: Share

ECIRP Mayors’ Leadership & Investment Delegation to Japan

November 01, 2018

The East Central Indiana Regional Partnership will conduct a Mayors’ Leadership Delegation and Industry Appreciation Mission to Japan from November 11 – 16, 2018.   The delegation will be comprised of representatives from the east region of the State of Indiana including elected officials and economic development leaders from the cities of Richmond, Rushville, and New Castle.

The purpose of the mission:  1)  to express appreciation to existing industry partners which have facilities located in eastern Indiana; 2)  to introduce the eastern region of Indiana; 3)  to explore opportunities for future economic development, investment and trade; 4)  to learn firsthand from Japanese corporate and manufacturing leaders about trends in business and manufacturing; and 5)  to experience the country and culture of Japan.

Focus industries will include manufacturing, automotive, technology, food products, and agriculture.

Japanese industry has been represented in the East Central region of Indiana for many years, and a primary goal of the delegation is to express appreciation to its Japanese partners.  More broadly, the state of Indiana ranks as a top location for Japanese investment in the United States.  The delegation looks forward to introducing its region of the state and exploring strategic opportunities presented by our good friends in Japan.

Delegation Members:

Michael Pavey, Mayor, City of Rushville, Indiana
David Snow, Mayor, City of Richmond, Indiana
T. Greg York, Mayor, City of New Castle, Indiana
Mindy Kenworthy, President & CEO, East Central Indiana Regional Partnership
John McCane, Executive Director, Rush County Economic & Community
Development Corp.
Corey Murphy, CEO, New Castle Henry County Economic Development Corp.
Valerie Shaffer, President, Economic Development Corporation of Wayne County
Theresa Kulczak, Executive Director, Japan-America Society of Indiana
Yoshi Ogawa, Japanese Services Coordinator, Japan America Society of Indiana

About the East Central Indiana Regional Partnership:

Established in 2005, the East Central Indiana Regional Partnership’s mission is to market the assets and resources of the 10 county East Central Indiana region. Member counties include Blackford, Delaware, Fayette, Grant, Henry, Jay, Madison, Randolph, Rush and Wayne. The Partnership teams with local economic development organizations and the state’s lead economic development agency – the Indiana Economic Development Corporation – to bring capital investment and new jobs to the region.